Home

My name is Barbette and I am a powder room romantic.

You’ll find me testing any restaurant and hotel for it’s vanity facilities, I’ll be that one hopeful woman swaying around the building, praying for a true old world powder room discovery…

powderroom5

While out on the town tonight, I excused myself to make my way to the ladies room. As I was ‘powdering my nose’ in front of the mirror, one of those horrifying chemical “perfume” machines sprayed me in the face… The position of the machine, the timing and the sheer everything I loathe about it was both humorous and horrifying to me, so when, right as the machine defiled me, a woman walked into the room, I laughed out loud and smiled at her with a look on my face that must’ve been a mixture of complete terror and amusement.

My little moment and smile weren’t met. Instead I got a grumpy up and down look, after which she quickly removed herself from my presence.

What happened to powder rooms? The ambiance of soft music, fragrant flowers and flattering lighting. Beautiful mirrors and cushioned chairs to really take the time to put on that elegant perfume, apply some lipstick and admire yourself and enjoy your fellow company.

powderroom3

It feels for me that with the lost art of the powder rooms, the art of being a lady amongst other ladies has vanished from the face of the earth too.

Maybe the return of the powder room (a.k.a our natural habitat) will be accompanied by a more elegant form of socializing amongst women.

I am convinced that it would make our every day world a much more beautiful place.

Leave a comment